Skip to content

Yesterdays Dyes

August 1, 2009

Yesterday I started dyeing fabrics again.   It’s been too long since I did any serious dyes, and I thoroughly enjoyed the process.   Especially since we replaced the washer about a year and a half ago and I got a new dryer just a few weeks ago!

First batch

First batch

The colors in this second photo are true to the dyes.

First and Second  batches -- same dye bath

First and Second batches -- same dye bath

The flash washed out the shade in this photo, but made it easier to see the lines and marks of the gradations.

Close up of reds

Close up of reds

Once my new steam press gets here next week, I’ll finish pressing and cutting these to size!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2009 8:11 am

    Looks like you had a good day!

  2. August 1, 2009 8:25 am

    Love those reds and golds!

  3. Rain permalink
    August 1, 2009 8:45 am

    Those pale almost neutral cool blushes at the top…. DIBBS!!!!

  4. August 1, 2009 8:48 am

    Judy,
    Those colors are so COOL!!! Sounds like you had some real fun doing this.

  5. Freda Henderson permalink
    August 1, 2009 9:58 am

    Gorgeous colors Judy.

  6. Susan Dunne-Lederhaas permalink
    August 1, 2009 10:38 am

    Hey Judy,
    Good job..they are lovely.. hmmm.. wonder where they will reside??

    • August 3, 2009 6:45 am

      They’ll be available at QNAE 2010 in my booth, or by stopping by the studio beforehand!

  7. August 1, 2009 12:51 pm

    Very pretty!!

  8. ginaquilts permalink
    August 3, 2009 5:43 am

    Those reds look fantastic! Last time I dyed reds I used “Chinese Red” from Dharma and it came out kind of orangey-red. What red did you use?

  9. August 3, 2009 6:43 am

    Thanks everyone! I do enjoy dyeing fabrics!

    Gina I used about 8 different reds this time and 4 yellows, I don’t use just one dye color when I dye. I make stock in multiple colors and then combine at will! LOL I am what you could call an “accidentally on purpose” dyer! Each piece of cloth is truly one-of-a-kind!

    • August 3, 2009 6:44 am

      Oh and I’m not done with the red/yellow dyes yet, I still have stock left, which I’ll be using in the next couple days in a more orangey ratio.

Leave a Reply

